Last swatching post

Once your swatch is competely dry, unpin it, it should now sit flat. Take a tape measure and insert pins across the fabric to show the distance shown for your pattern’s tension (for my swatch 10cm) . Remember to use pins with large ends, normal dressmaking pins will disappear through your knitting.

Pins showing 10cm

Pins showing 10cm

Count the stiches between the pins, I have 14 which is the correct tension.

Then measure your distance again, this time vertically up the fabric, and put in your pins.

Pins show 10cm

Pins show 10cm

Count the rows between the pins, – again I made tension with 20 rows over 10cm (*is a smarty pants*).

I now know I have gauge and can cast on with impunity. I will also probably recheck the tension on the actual garment once I get past the first bit just to make sure.

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

