When insomnia is not your friend

The other day I pushed myself to do stuff. I knew in the back of my head it wasn’t a good idea to go hiking off to Asda, but I went anyway determined as usual to force myself into normality. By the time I got back I barely managed to put away the shopping before I had to lie down on the sofa. I literally felt unable to move, I almost slipped off to sleep. After about an hour and a half I was able to get up and shove some food in the oven and eat. I was in bed asleep soon after and slept for 10 hours. Today (well yesterday, but we’ll call it today since I haven’t been to sleep yet) has been a bad pain day due to the exertions of the day before. I tried just lying still, as sometimes that can help, but even breathing today was causing me a great deal of discomfort, and the pain causes nausea. I needed painkillers, but before that I had to eat. Toast is always the saviour in these situations. Thus fortified I took my pills and lay down to wait for them to kick in. Initially this was great, lack of pain=happy Miss Raa.. I managed sitting up and knitting! Then, well, they continued to kick in, which was not so great. My concentration dissolved into a codeine and voltarol induced haze. I had to put my shawl down. I poked the internet and watched tv, far less taxing pursuits, there may have been some staring in to space. By the time my brain had made it back to a semblance of what I’d consider normal, I only managed to do 3 rows of knitting before I got too tired to do any more. Miss Raa goes off to bed, eyes drooping.

That was over 3 hours ago, I have tried very hard to sleep. I tried to ignore the pain again, after all I was so tired I could sleep through anything… except that apparently. I am soooo tired. So now I resort once again to the pills, 60mg of codeine and 1000mg of paracetamol. In about 20 more minutes hopefully everything will turn shiny, the pain will recede and I will slip off to sleep. If not I shall return and take 50mg of voltarol and try again.

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting, not crafty

Leave a Reply

