The day that never happened… kinda

Today has been a day of non-events.

I set out for Tesco this morning firmly fixed on popping in to La Cerise for coffee and either a croissant or a scone on my way back. Thus fortified I was determined that the apple pie making would happen! Instead… there was no cake 😦 La Cerise don’t open on Sunday now. I popped home looked at the kitchen, didn’t make apple pie, looked at my knitting… didn’t finish the shawl, grabbed 2 ginger cookies, and a big bag and set off out again.

Last year I got a capsicum growing kit but, with all the upheaval after the fire and going back to work, I never got round to actually planting the seeds. Today I walked a mile and half to B&Q got extra pots and compost then walked back home and planted pepper seeds. I looked at the kitchen, didn’t make apple pie, looked at my knitting… didn’t finish the shawl and headed out again, hopped on a bus to Yo! Sushi… only to discover they closed early on Sunday… I pondered eating eslsewhere, but since I was having no luck eating out.. I headed home, I looked at the kitchen, didn’t make apple pie, looked at my knitting… didn’t finish the shawl.. I did wash some dishes though.

Anyway I reckon I walked 5 miles today, that’s the farthest I have walked in months, I’m really surprised I managed it. I ache a little. What could be nicer that a warm bath as a pick me up? Then relaxed and in clean jammies I could knit the 3 remaining rows of the Gypsy Rose Leaf shawl and go to bed feeling like I had accomplished something (even if there was still no apple pie).

I turned on the taps… went and looked for towels… chose marshmallow scented body scrub.. tested the water… it wasn’t hot. I looked in the central heating cupboard – control panel display blank, I decide it must be a fuse, I actually FOUND a replacement fuse and inserted it.. panel now works… heating still doesn’t. I think the new part that was installed last week is what caused the fuse to go…, now I am back to only having central heating while the water heater is on. Will call it in tomorrow.

But no bath yet for me, still no finished shawl and still no apple pie… although there is now pastry ready to use in the fridge.

Leave a comment

Filed under crochet, knitting, not crafty

Leave a Reply

